Great wall of China

Also called the "Great Wall", the Great Wall of China is a military architectural structure built during Imperial China.

In fact, it consists of several walls, built by various dynasties over about two millennia. Its different parts are distributed between the Yellow Sea (Northeast coast of China) and the Gobi Desert and Mongolia (to the Northwest).

This wall constituted a complete system of military defense during the cold arms era. Currently, it presents itself as a sought after tourist attraction of the country, for both Chinese and foreign tourists.

The Great Wall extends 5,000 kilometers from east to west in northern China. Its walls were built taking advantage of the contours of the mountains and valleys. Beyond the walls, along the wall rose towers, strategic steps and watchtowers that were meant to serve as an alarm for possible attacks.

Considered one of the seven wonders of the world, the wall aroused the interest and admiration of the entire planet. In 1987, it was included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage.

Its construction began in the spring and fall (770-475 BC) and continued in the period of the Combating Realms. At this time, there were seven independent kingdoms in China: Chu, Qi, Wei, Han, Yan, Qin and Zhao. To defend themselves from neighboring raids, each of these kingdoms built their own walls on hard-to-reach terrain. In the year 221 BC, the kingdom of Qin conquered the other six states and decided to unify all of China by ordering the union of the walls erected by each kingdom and the construction of new plots.

Then the Great Wall became part of Chinese history under the name of "Ten Thousand Li Wall" (two Li is one kilometer), a name used by the Chinese to this day. In order to protect themselves against the invasions of the Huns, the following dynasties continued the maintenance and repair of the wall. Larger repairs were carried out during the Qin, Han and Ming dynasties.

The existing wall was rebuilt from its original base in Ming Dynasty times until it reached a width of 5,660 Km, starting from Shanghai (east) to Jiayu (west), also crossing four provinces (Hebei, Shanxi, Shaanxi and Gansu), two regions. (Mongolia and Ningxia) and Beijing.